Swedish hikers warned not to drink from watersheds

maj 20, 2008 at 3:00 pm 18 kommentarer

Hikers in the otherwise “water safe” Åre in Sweden are advised not to drink from the normally safe watersheds in the area.

Carlgren

Hikers now need to carry all their water supplies with them.
Photo: ugglan at flickr.com

The water can be contaminated with giardia and cryptosporidium, two microscopic parasites that produce cysts that are very resistant to harsh environmental conditions. These parasites even in small amounts can cause illness; symptoms are normally Diarrhoea, abdominal cramps, gas, malaise, and weight loss.

Joni_didze from the Greenpaece forum “Louder Than Words” point the finger at the general public: “Hikers have been advised to not drink from several watersheds in areas that are becoming more and more polluted from human developments.”
Read the rest of the story on ENO

Entry filed under: Environment, Europe, News, Water, Water Pollution. Tags: , , .

The ‘MNO’ of Water Pollution Backpackers Disease / Giardiasis

18 kommentarer Add your own

  • 1. Glary Utilities download  |  februar 27, 2013 kl. 1:14 am

    Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the information you present here and can’t wait
    to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G
    .. Anyways, great blog!

  • Hey excellent blog! Does running a blog such as this take a great deal of work?
    I have very little knowledge of programming however
    I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyways, should you have any
    ideas or tips for new blog owners please share. I know this
    is off subject however I simply wanted to ask.
    Kudos!

  • 3. Article Source  |  marts 4, 2013 kl. 6:01 pm

    Greetings! This is my first visit to your blog!
    We are a group of volunteers and starting a
    new initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on.
    You have done a marvellous job!

  • 4. Jenni  |  juni 12, 2013 kl. 6:06 am

    I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes
    it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Exceptional work!

  • 5. Beat Eczema Review  |  juni 19, 2013 kl. 3:53 am

    I read this article completely regarding the resemblance of most recent
    and earlier technologies, it’s remarkable article.

  • 6. seoul hotel bookings  |  juni 21, 2013 kl. 6:33 pm

    Thanks for any other excellent post. Where else could anyone get
    that type of info in such an ideal way of writing?
    I have a presentation subsequent week, and I’m at the look for such information.

  • 7. http://www.myspace.com  |  juni 29, 2013 kl. 2:37 am

    I leave a response each time I appreciate a post on a website
    or I have something to valuable to contribute to the discussion.
    Usually it’s triggered by the fire communicated in the post I looked at. And after this post Swedish hikers warned not to drink from watersheds | European Waters. I was moved enough to drop a thought :-) I actually do have a couple of questions for you if you usually do not mind. Is it just me or does it look like a few of these comments come across as if they are written by brain dead individuals? :-P And, if you are writing on other sites, I’d
    like to follow you. Would you list the complete urls of
    all your communal sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  • 8. Brandon  |  juli 16, 2013 kl. 5:36 pm

    Too many folks have already thrown away plenty of good money on nothing but useless salt tablets being shipped from South America.
    Authorities inside the area will need to have an intensive understanding of laboratory and labeling techniques, infection security precautions, appropriate
    blood attract approaches to the elderly and for infants and even more.
    Hence, broccoli is a must-add ingredient in your vegetarian weight loss
    diet.

  • 9. ingramgfjb.gather.com  |  juli 28, 2013 kl. 8:39 am

    But at the end of the day, even the computer is a machine
    and like all machines it calls for maintenance,
    what we can call as. Second A good wedding cakes designer will ask for many details of your
    big day as possible to him or her to help herself to have
    a few ideas right. Making hand shaped flowers like mums, roses, carnations,
    calla lilies, rosebuds and daisy will be taught as well.

  • 10. cabbage soup diet  |  juli 29, 2013 kl. 5:50 am

    Great goods from you, man. I’ve have in mind your stuff previous to and you are just extremely excellent. I really like what you’ve acquired
    right here, really like what you’re stating and the way through which you are saying it. You’re making it entertaining and you still take care of to stay it smart.
    I cant wait to read far more from you. That is really a wonderful website.

  • 11. anxiety  |  juli 29, 2013 kl. 3:08 pm

    For unmarried utilize, you can easily select in order to buy a coffee maker that definitely will pour coffee one mug at just
    a period, whilst keeping the coffee maker filled with coffee, and
    additionally retaining the newness till the previous
    cup. we love my bialetti coffee maker and think it possibly makes the best coffee
    of all the separate alternatives around and additionally nowadays
    we need moved into my personal new home containing the gas cooker we am going which will make the
    efforts to make use of it much more frequently.

  • 12. protein rich foods  |  august 8, 2013 kl. 6:17 am

    I think the admin of this web page is genuinely
    working hard for his site, since here every information is quality based data.

  • 13. refinance fixed interest rate  |  august 8, 2013 kl. 6:48 am

    I am truly grateful to the owner of this site who has shared this impressive paragraph at at this place.

  • 14. sleep music for babies  |  august 8, 2013 kl. 7:39 am

    An impressive share! I have just forwarded this
    onto a coworker who has been conducting a little homework on this.
    And he actually ordered me dinner simply because I found it
    for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU
    for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending the time to discuss this topic here
    on your internet site.

  • 15. www.lestor.pl  |  august 8, 2013 kl. 4:55 pm

    Link exchange is nothing else but it is just placing the other person’s website link on your page at suitable place and other person will also do similar in favor of you.

  • 16. wurfmesser pflege  |  august 22, 2013 kl. 11:01 pm

    You can find the best craftsmanship and sturdy quality hunting knife at.
    With this level of attention being paid to the very fine details, you can be confident of the
    accuracy of the product. Like the much cheaper
    and no-risk herbal remedy option.

  • 17. http://www.blackplanet.com/  |  september 10, 2013 kl. 9:58 am

    Hi, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Chrome, it looks fine but when opening in Internet
    Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, superb blog!

  • 18. wifi hack software  |  februar 7, 2014 kl. 3:08 pm

    What\’s up, this weekend is good in favor of me, because this moment i am reading this wonderful informative piece of
    writing here at my home.

Skriv et svar

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Twitter Status

  • Der er opstået en fejl - feedet er sikkert nede. Prøv igen senere.

